Brownies!

So I have resolved each week to write a blog about my Pilates experiences. I don’t always have something Pilates related and relevant to say and this is one of those weeks. But I do have a semi-Pilates-related-because-its-related-to-overall-general-health thing to share.

As some of my clients know, I had to change my diet pretty drastically to loose my baby weight. Most of this weight loss was driven purely by vanity, but I also had quite a bit of back pain and extra weight is hard on your joints. So I cut out all meat, dairy, eggs, soda, and refined sugar. I went Vegan. I didn’t go Vegan on principals but for weight loss and general health reasons. I read a book called “Eat to Live” by Dr. Furhman who is a proponent of a “nutritarian” diet. Basically, the stuff that you know isn’t good for you, he reminds you you should not eat but he takes it a step further by suggesting that Americans eat too much filler food. Filler foods (that’s my term not his) are your pastas, breads, and tofu. In my mind pasta is the meal. Dr. Furhman suggests that our veggies should be the main meal. They are packed full of nutrients that are good for your body, so you should be eating mostly them because they are the foods that are best for you. So it isn’t that pasta is bad for you, its that when you eat it, its taking up a lot of room in your stomach that should be full of vegetables. And those vegetables have a much more favorable nutrient to calorie ratio. He supports a 90/10 split. Yes, folks, that is 90% of your diet being vegetables. The first week of this was tough but I lost weight quickly and I felt great.

In the months following, I have gradually let a little meat, dairy and sugar into my diet. But I’m so grateful for my foray into full veganism. It forced me to open my palette to foods I had never liked. Most notably, beans. I’m a firm believer you cannot have enough beans in your diet now. They are great for you, super filling, cheap, easy to cook, packed full of nutrients and help you poop. And they are so versatile! So I plan to begin sharing some of my favorite recipes not only for beans but other yummy, healthy, filling foods. Here is a bean one! Please note you need a high powered food processor for it. I leave out the nuts and add a few semi sweet chocolate chips on top. Also, don’t go in expecting these to taste like a white sugar, egg, white flour and chocolate brownie. Because it will disappoint. Do let it be its own thing. That is how I taught my lactose intolerant husband to like soy milk. I simply explained to him one day that he should not prepare his mouth for cow milk when it was about to drink a plant. Low and behold, my household all drinks soy milk now and loves it. Do the same with these bean brownies.

-Rebecca Garrison

Black Bean Brownies

Serves: 10

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Cocoa

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 can black beans

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 cups pitted dates

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup walnuts (optional)

Instructions:
Place first 6 ingredients in a food processor. Start the food processor, then add the dates one at a time until finished. Add the flour until evenly blended. Shut off the food processor and stir in the nuts. Spread into a 13 x 9-inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes. Tastes best chilled in the refrigerator.

Above recipe borrowed from www.drfuhrman.com

20111019-232255.jpg  My daughter helps me clean the spatula.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment